Image

Reclaimed fish dinner, Far Rockaway

29 Mar


Can we talk about cooking?
One of my favorite meals is a very simple one.

I like to go out fishing for striped bass in my boat, but I rarely catch one that reaches the mandatory 28 inches in order to keep it.
For this reason I’ve started approaching the other fishermen at the dock, while they are cleaning their catch.
I say ,”Hey, if you don’t mind I would like to have that fish Carcass, I need something for my crab traps.”
You may ask why wouldn’t I just tell him the truth, that I planned on taking it home and cooking it? Well ,that’s interesting, people seem more receptive to this tactic for some reason. Try it.
Any how the fisherman is usually in a hurry to get home to his family or what ever and they often posses poor filleting skills, so they leave about an inch of meat on the bone. Now you can imagine a 20 pound fish might yield 8-9 pounds of fillet, but there is a lot of good eating fish left on that carcass.
The meat is especially sweet and tender around the jaw and neck.
So I find a plastic bag and chuck it in there, take it home, scale and wash it, then its ready to cook.

I take a 1/2 head of Cabbage and some 8-10 new potatoes
Slice the cabbage real thin like slaw and cut the potatoes thin too.
Throw that in a large mixing howl add salt and pepper plenty of olive oil and a few good slugs of Balsamic vinegar…toss that.
These fish average 30inches long so I pull a string thought the mouth and poke a hole in the tail with a sharp knife and tie the tail to the head.
I take olive oil and rub the whole thing down then apply liberal amounts kosher salt and fresh pepper.
This makes a nice nest for the cabbage potatoes mix which I mound in the middle.
In the oven at 350 for 1hr or more until you poke it and the flesh falls away.
This dish usually feeds 4-6 people depending on the side dishes and how adventuresome eaters are.
Well, thats my two cents on the matter. Next time you see some one filleting a big fish try this.
I bet this dish will go well with the “Kolsch” style beer we’ve been working on.

Leave a Reply

